sitemap DAILY STAR: Sports
Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesFriday, May 1, 2009
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Protest, rains
disrupt Palaro games

Protest tarnished the rains-soaked Palarong Pambansa yesterday when two runners from Southern Tagalog-Calabarzon allegedly elbowed a runner from Southern Tagalog-Mimaropa thrice in the last 100 meters of the secondary boys’ 800m run event.

The athletics tournament officials held the result of the controversial event after new Palaro record holder Marvin Guarte claimed that Salvador Guarin Jr. and teammate Don-Don Aguado shoved, costing the native of Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro of the gold medal.

Guarte drew attention specifically from former national coach Jojo Posadas after topping the event time trial last Wednesday via record-breaking fashion, setting new meet record one minute and 55.60 seconds to eclipse the 12-year-old record 1:57.00 owned by Rene Boy Tanuan.

Based on the unofficial result, Guarin, silver medalist in the same event last year, crossed the finish line first in 1:55.69 followed by Guarte, who checked in 1:56.31. John Allen Aguado of Region 12 took the bronze 1:59.01.

Jether Molina of Cotabato Region ruled elementary boys’ category of the same event, handing the Region 12 its fifth gold medal in athletics.

National Capital Region dominated the second day of swimming competition, fishing out six more gold medals from the 12 at stakes to add to its seven golds won Wednesday.

The gold medal winners for the Big City are Alberto Batungbakal(EG 50 back, 36.68); Johamar Gonzales(SB 200m breast, 2:33.50); Rafael Sta. Maria (EG 100 free, 59.39) who later teamed up with Jan Jeris Santos, Christiaw Kaw and Dunn Clarke Vinluan to win the elementary boys’ 400m MR in 4:42.98 minutes. It was Sta. Maria’s third swimming gold.

Johansen Aguilar, who topped the 100m back and the 200m medley relay the other day, seized his third gold as teamed up with Gabriel Castelo, Sean Tan and Gian Berino in a record swim of 4:10.66, eclipsing the 4:11.31 mark established also by NCR in 2005.

The NCR’s team composed of Ana Nicole Tan, Ma. Areza Lipat, Gia Balabag and Ariana Herranz won EG 400m MR in 5:05.08; and Dorothy Hong, Hannah Dato, Allia Cortado and Ingrid Ilustre ruled SG 400m MR, 4:41.86.

Southern Tagalog-Calabaron which collected seven golds last Wednesday slowed down with only two gold medals courtesy of Gia Nicole Balabag and team event. Other swimming gold winners are Fudro Tiera of Region 12, Rosemarie Occeno of Region 6, Wilfredo Sunglao Jr. of Region 5 and Loren Dale Echavez of Region 7.

Meanwhile, heavy rains brought by low pressure area that hit Visayas region forced the organizers to postpone most of the outdoor ball games including volleyball, lawn tennis, softball and baseball.*PNA



back to top


ButtonThree-way tie in Balbina Cup 2001
ButtonProtest, rains disrupt Palaro games
ButtonCycling nat’l open set Jan. 15
ButtonSJI- A solidifies Batang PBA bid