Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesTuesday, August 30, 2011
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads
200 teams to join
`Doc Eric’ bootfest

Around 200 football teams from Dumaguete, Iloilo and host Negros will compete in the eight categories of the Mayor Doc Eric Minuluan 2011 Football Festival that will open on September 3 at the Talisay Football Field.

Tournament commissioner Warren Concepcion said all the games will be played 7-a-side and the teams will vie for top honors in boys and girls’ Under-13, boys’ Under 17, 38-Above men, boys’ Under-15, ladies’ open, men’s open, and Under 10 boys/girls mixed.

Spicing up the opening ceremonies on September 3 will be the presence of Philippine men’s football team Azkals’ co-captain Chieffy Caligdong, Concepcion said.

The two-day football festival will be played in Talisay pitch, where four fields will be set up, and at the Carlos Hilado football field where six fields will be installed, he added.

Concepcion said that the football festival is in line with the continuing sports development program in Talisay City, spearheaded by Mayor Eric Saratan.

To see action in the ladies open division are teams from Kabankalan, Matab-ang, Escalante, EVFC, SSABF, Rizal Elementary School, University of St. La Salle, Domingo Lacson National High School, SFC, La Futbolera Sagay, Himamaylan, Inoncencio V. Ferrer Memorial HS, Cadiz City, La Carlota, and host Talisay.

In Under-10 event, confirmed entries are from La Carlota, Talisay, Bago City, St. John’s Institute, Bata ES, Escalante, USLS, Don Bosco, St. Scholastica Bacolod Alumnae Foundation, Mabini ES, and RDY FC Dumaguete.

Teams that will compete in Under-17 include:Bago City, Talisay, St. Benilde School, B.A. Oriental Football Team, IVFM High School, Kabankalan, CHMSC, Don Bosco, SJI, Agelicum – Iloilo, Escalante, Himamaylan and Rafael B. Lacson NHS.

Competing football clubs in the boys’ Under 13 are Bago, EELMS, Mabini ES, Rizal ES, Escalante, La Carlota, Bata ES, Don Bosco, SJI, Wild Fox, Kabankalan, Magallon, and ABES.

Listed entries in the girls’ Under 13 are Rizal ES, Minuluan Talisay, Delez, Bata ES, Notre Dame of Talisay, EVFC, and St. Benilde School.

In men’s Above-38, the title will be contested by Real Negrense FC, Minuluan Talisay A & B, Bacolod United FC, BNFC, Jakalz FC, and Cadiz Association de Futbol.*NAB

back to top


ButtonTeam 5 cagers capture BTTHS  alumni crown
ButtonUSLS spikers rule Bro. Ceci Class A
Button200 teams to join `Doc Eric’ bootfest
ButtonSilverado, Condura teams pace Supplier’s bowling tilt