Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesTuesday, July 12, 2011
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads
NSL bowling final round
set tonight at Super Lanes

The championship and awarding rites of the NSL sponsored Five-Man Team Bowling Tournament will be held tonight at the Super Lanes of the Goldenfield Commercial Complex in Bacolod City.

Eco-saver led by Reymund Lopez earned the twice-to-beat advantage with an aggregate score of 15,339 balls, while its closest rival LJP Trading/JFM/RJ Stars NPBC headed by Gil Villagante was in close second with 15,324.

The No.1 squad members are Lopez, Hazel Acse, Orly Guiljon, Glenn Domingo, Edwin Monserate, Lito Tonogbanua, Joel Binas, Gershon Elican and Sergio Cayron.

The other top two survivors to compete in the final showdown are NOHS All Stars anchored by Iran Pielago and NOHS ’70 of Vita de Paula.

Pielago’s group and De Paula’s squad will try to outdo each other in the quarterfinal match for the right to face No.2 seed LJP Trading in the semi-final clash.

The winner will then challenge the top seed for the crown.

Those who failed to make it in the up-the ladder are Moonlight Inn, 69Ner’s, Dolar Surveying Office, Financier and NOHS ’95 & Company

Despite failing to survive in the elimination process, 69Ner’s still managed to steal the show for recording the tournament’s highest single and triple records with an excellent performance of 596 and 1,628 in the seventh-round.

Individual awardees were Orly Guiljon (Eco-saver) who recorded the highest pinning mark with 94, while Hernand Garciniego and Jam Morales of LJP Trading/NPBC in single and triple with 151 and 391, respectively.

The top 10 players were Paul Locsin (Moonlight), Jam Morales (LJP NPBC), Maila Balayo (Financier), Edjie Balayo (LJP NPBC), Cesar Sumaylo (NOHS ’70), Glenn Domingo (Eco-saver), Cero Cordova, Nilo Maghari (NOHS ’70), Bert Hulguin (NOHS ’70), and Edwin Monserate (Eco-saver).

The battle for the master’s title is set at 6 p.m.

NSL top man Orson Ong assisted by Elorde Magbanua will award cash prizes and trophies to the team winners, individual record holders and top bowlers.*HLG

back to top


ButtonNegros players not keen on joining PBaRS 3rd leg
ButtonMayor Bascon lauds Bautista
ButtonNSL bowling final round set tonight at Super Lanes
ButtonGentech/ Sun Cell streaks past Shakey’s