Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesTuesday, March 8, 2011
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads
Sharp, Candles/Alimon
 win Open Trio bowl title

Sharp dumped ESD Hurricane in the finals to win the Class A crown, as Candles/Alimon Steel and Davies Fusion led in their divisions of the Top’s Invitational Open Trio Bowling Championship at the New Tops Millennium Plaza Alley in Bacolod City.

The Sharp bowlers of Irne Diaz composed of Edgar De Leon, Matt Gaudite, Ricky Ondovilla and Ricky Zamora overpowered top qualifier and twice-to-beat ESD Hurricane/ASSFBI represented by Wilson Casas, Cesar Sumaylo, Nonoy Ayagan and Nerio Regollo.

In the championship round, Sharp prevailed, 356-314, in their first game and followed it up with a 349-318 victory in the final round to bag the top prize.

In earning the opportunity to challenge Hurricane, Sharp disposed of Amor Silverado of Roger Flores in the quarterfinal, 351-334, and subdued NPBC Easyweld of William Sy in the semifinals, 367-337.       

De Leon topscored for the winning team with 131, while Casas toppled 123 for ESD losing cause.

K of C Candles prevailed over Sharp II in the non-rated finals, 329-320, to bag the title, as Davies Fusion defeated sister team Davies Fusion 2, 344-318, to bring home the women’s title.

Playing for the winning squads were Melot Alimon, Edgar Allan del Rosario, Rey Bello and Frantit Miranda for Candles; Susan Robles, Tess Robles and Precy Pillo for the champion in the distaff side.

Second runners-up were Mulo Aircon Services of  Romulo “D’Gunner” Ramos (non-rated), and Tiger Eye headed by Cecil Biendo (women’s bracket), while third runners-up were Davies II of  Edgar Jerez and Condura ASSFBI Ladies led by Juliet Regollo (women).

Meanwhile, Sharp Phils. will host another Open Trio Bowling Tournament on March 18 at the same venue.*HLG



back to top


ButtonAzkals start training in Japan
ButtonNOPSSCEA marks founding day
ButtonSharp, Candles/Alimon  win Open Trio bowl title
ButtonTalisay beats Province,Davies advances to finals