Daily Star logoTop Stories
Bacolod City, Philippines Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
DILG names winning
brgy league presidents

The winning presidents in the Liga ng Barangay elections in 23 of 31 towns and cities in Negros Occidental were announced by the Department of Interior and Local Government yesterday.

DILG provincial head Ma. Joy Maredith Madayag said the elections in Negros Occidental were peaceful and orderly, and as of press time, they already had a partial list of winning Liga presidents.

Bacolod City, which is a highly urbanized city and is not under the province of Negros Occidental, will hold its Liga ng Barangay election on December 18.

The winning Liga presidents of the 31 towns and cities of Negros Occidental will also gather on December 18 for the election of their provincial head, who will represent them in the Negros Occidental Sangguniang Panlalawigan, Madayag said.

Gov. Alfredo Marañon Jr. said the Liga election is supposed to be non-political so he is taking a hands-off position on the December 18 polls.

The DILG said the winning Liga presidents yesterday were Lourdes Berunio – Manapla, Larry Garde – Valladolid, Oscar Catalino Yulo – Hinigaran, Antonio Luis Gonzaga – Murcia, Fernando Dolendo – Talisay City, Alexander Palanca – Victorias City, Soledad Leonor Suatengco – Pulupandan;

Anthony Marlon Magalona – EB Magalona, Virgilio Gamao – Escalante City, Sarry Sorimong – Isabela, Ricky Rebatado – Salvador Benedicto, Richel Abalona – Binalbagan, Romar Cabral – Ilog, Annabelle Bermudo – La Carlota City, Rogel Regalia – Kabankalan City;

Joselito Gelvosa – Cauayan, Sergio Piansay – Bago City, Ferdinand Murillo – Candoni, Noeme Nicor – La Castellana, Francisco Jose Bilbao Jr. – Hinobaan, Bobby Domingo – Sipalay City, and Zeus Matthew Awacay – San Enrique.

Meanwhile, the Bago City Liga ng mga Barangay elected president Sergio Piansay of Barangay Poblacion and his fellow winners took their oaths of office before Mayor Ramon Torres yesterday.

The other winners are Eddie Roque of Busay - vice president, while members of the Board of Directors are Eliseo Carmona Sr. of Dulao, Federico Gayagas of Bacong, Reymundo Gerona of Ma-ao, Hermelinda Javellana of Lag-asan, Rene Pailano of Sampinit, Maria May Suarez of Tabunan, Elvira Zulueta of Atipuluan and Severino Villanueva of Napoles.

In Silay, Jose “Toti” Lopez Jr. of Barangay Guinhalaran was proclaimed the city’s Liga president, a press release from Silay City said.

Other winners are Henry Belleza - vice president, Joel Peornato - auditor, and Milagros Catalan, Rolando Gutana, Efren Dequilla, Debbie Jinon, Eugenio Celis Jr., Corazon Soluta, and Ramon Celebre, the press release added.*CPG

back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Negros Oriental | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
Top Stories
ButtonDILG names winning brgy league presidents
ButtonPreparations readied for Dec. 18 polls
Button2 killed in bike accident
Button‘Decisions out soon on raps vs. officials’
ButtonSpeak out vs. human rights violations, bishops urged
ButtonEnvironment summit set
ButtonNeg. Occ. has big chance of winning award - DILG