Daily Star logoTop Stories
Bacolod City, Philippines Wednesday, December 11, 2013
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Guv doubts Cui has numbers
to win prov'l liga presidency

Gov Alfredo Marañon Jr. yesterday called on the newly-elected officials of the 31 Liga ng mga Barangay chapters in the 12 cities and 19 towns of Negros Occidental to focus on serving the people and not on politics.

Marañon, who heads the United Negros Alliance party, said he is not supporting anyone in the December 18 election for the provincial Liga ng mga Barangay president, who will then represent the league in the Sangguniang Panlalawigan.

He, however, said he does not believe that Mark Cui, president of the San Carlos City league, has the numbers to win the provincial presidency.

Cui, who is the incumbent vice president of the provincial league and is said to be allied with the Love Negros opposition party, had earlier confirmed his intention to run for the provincial league presidency.

“Everybody has an ambition, it's up for him to aspire,” Marañon said, adding that he does not know Cui and doubts that he has the numbers to win.

Who will go with him, maybe the first district? Marañon said of Cui.

Vice Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson, when asked whether Love Negros is fielding a candidate for the provincial league presidency, said “We are keeping our cards very close to our chest.”

The Department of Interior and Local Government provincial office yesterday released the names of the 31 Liga presidents:

First District: Mark Cui – San Carlos City, Regolo Villagracia Sr. – Calatrava, Eriberto Baynosa – Toboso, Virgilio Gamao – Escalante City and Ricky Rebatado – Salvador Benedicto;

Second District: Roberto Hecita – Sagay City, Eduardo Javier – Cadiz City and Lourdes Berunio – Manapla;

Third District: Alexander Palanca – Victorias City, Anthony Marlon Magalona – E.B. Magalona, Jose Lopez – Silay City, Fernando Dolendo – Talisay City, and Antonio Luis Gonzaga – Murcia;

Fourth District: Sergio Piansay – Bago City, Soledad Leonor Suatengco – Pulupandan, Larry Garde – Valladolid, Zeus Matthew Awacay – San Enrique, Annabelle Bermudo – La Carlota City and Aurelio Garita II – Pontevedra;

Fifth District: Oscar Catalino Yulo – Hinigaran, Richel Abalona – Binalbagan, Benjamine Sian – Himamaylan, Sarry Sorimong – Isabela, Jose Marcelito Garcia – Moises Padilla, and Noeme Nicor – La Castellana, and;

Sixth District: Rogel Regalia – Kabankalan City, Romar Cabral – Ilog, Ferdinand Murillo – Candoni, Joselito Gelvosa – Cauayan, Bobby Domingo – Sipalay City and Francisco Jose Bilbao – Hinobaan.*CPG



back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Negros Oriental | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
Top Stories
Button Safari resort gets notice of violation
Button Priest calls for end to Escalante killing
Button Guv doubts Cui has numbers to win prov'l liga presidency
Button Code for reduction of child labor inked
Button Cops seize gun replicas
Button Bacolod gov't helps Bantayan
Button Budget has 80% chance of passing
Button Human rights violations worsening
Button Guv wishes Lacson luck