Daily starNegros Oriental
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads
Dumaguete City, PhilippinesThursday, March 7, 2013
Negros Oriental
ButtonUS-AFP mission to benefit 6,000
ButtonMOA signed on Palaro
52nd SU writers’ workshop set
Comet visible Sunday: PAGASA

US-AFP mission
to benefit 6,000


Around 6,000 disaster victims in Negros Oriental will benefit from “Operation Pacific Angel”, the joint humanitarian mission of the US Pacific Air Force and Armed Forces of the Philippines.

OPA mission commander, Lt. Col. Alvin Alana, said the humanitarian outreach will provide medical health services to 500 patients a day for six days, or from March 4 to 9, at the Macias Sports Complex in Dumaguete City, and Osmeña Park in Tanjay City.

It will also provide dental, optometry, and engineering programs, and expert exchanges with counterpart Filipino soldiers, he added.

MOA signed on Palaro

A memorandum of agreement for the hosting of Palarong Pambansa on April 21-27 in Negros Oriental was signed by Gov. Roel Degamo and Department of Education Secretary Armin Luistro, recently.

The MOA sets the requirements of hosting the national sporting event to ensure its success.

The provincial government allocated P25 million as counterpart funds for the preparation and actual conduct of the Palaro. Degamo said he is coordinating closely with the working committees to ensure the safety and comfort of delegates from provinces and regions in the country.

52nd SU writers’ workshop set

The 52nd Silliman University National Writers Workshop will be held May 6-24 at the Rose Lamb Sobrepeña Writers Village in Camp Look-out, Valencia, Negros Oriental, a press release from the school said.

The 13 writers from the Philippines who were accepted as workshop fellows are Nolin Adrian de Pedro and Corina Marie Arenas, both of the University of the Philippines-Diliman; Brylle Bautista Tabora, University of Santo Tomas; Lyde Gerard Villanueva, SU, and Trish Shishikura, Miriam College, for poetry;

Rhea Politado and Sophia Marie Lee of UP Diliman, and Tracey dela Cruz and Patricia Verzo of Ateneo de Manila University, for fiction; Arnie Mejia of Pacasum College; Ana Felisa Lorenzo, UP Diliman, and Jennifer dela Rosa Balboa of De La Salle University, for creative nonfiction; and Mario Mendez, DLSU, for drama.

back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Negros Oriental | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
 Email: visayandailystar@yahoo.com