Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesTuesday, October 1, 2013
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Sharp Aquos bowlers
rule pre-MassKara tilt

Sharp Aquos I won the championship in the premiere division, as FRM Marketing and Sharp Aquos II were co-champion in Class B of the 2013 Pre-Masskara Supplier’s Cup Open and Non-rated Bowling Tournament at the New Top’s Millennium Plaza Alley in Bacolod City.

Tiger Eye won the title in the women’s department.

Aquos I, composed of Edgar De Leon, Nonoy Hulguin and Reymund Lopez won over Willy Mahilum, Hernand Garciniego and Abe Leong of NPBC RJ Stars/LJP in a deciding contest, 332-323.

NPBC, headed by Steve Po, defeated Sharp of Irne Diaz in their first game encounter, 334-314, to force a rubber match.

De Leon led Sharp with 132 points, while Leong and Garciniego posted 118 each for RJ Stars.

Silverado/ASSFBI, represented by Norman Pineda, Ronald Fernandez and Cesar Sumaylo was second runner-up after NPBC in the semifinals, 312-364.

In Class B, sister teams Sharp Aquos II and challenger FRM Marketing were declared co-champion when both squad decided to share the title instead of playing a final round.

Earlier, FRM headed by Fil Magbujos beat Davies I of Edgar Jerez in the semifinals, 297-293, while the latter defeated Canvil Knights led by Ulysses Pacheco in the quarterfinals, 338-298.

The winning squads were composed of Edgar De Leon, Nonoy Hulguin, Reymund Lopez, Rey Bala-an, Art Palo, Carlo Boyero, Rommel Agupitan and Fred Empio.

Tiger Eye outscored St. Joseph-La Salle Adventurer’s for the women’s title, 321-314.

The members of the champion team were Cecil Biendo, Jumelin De La Cruz and Carmen Romales, while Stella Ongsingco, Suzette Morales, Cheryl Ramos and Minnie Chua carried St. Jo colors.

Consolation prize winners were ESD Solid Strikers (Rated); Flores Team (Non-rated), and Kami Mga Gwapa (women).

Silverado of Cecil Silverio and ESD Electronz of Edgar Del Rosario and Pat Mendoza in the team’s highest triple and single with 1,106 and 398, while Tiger Eye in the women’s division with 998 and 353.

The top five players in the rated bracket of the tournament were Cezar Sumaylo (Silverado), Edgar De Leon (Sharp), Reymund Lopez (Sharp), Ronald Fernandez (Silverado), and Romulo Ramos (Mulo Car Aircon); Art Palo (Sharp), Carlo Boyero (Sharp), Boy Wingpo (FRM Sharp), Cero Cordova (Haier/Sanyo), and Toto Flores (Flores Team) in non-rated; Cecil Biendo (Tiger Eye), Precy Pillo (Davies Fusion), Sharon Sioson (Panasonic Ladies), Stella Ongsingco (St. Joseph), and Suzette Morales (St. Joseph) in the women’s corner.

The individual record holders were Willy Mahilum (NPBC) and Vilma Robles (Davies Fusion) in highest pinning with 97 and 94; Nilo Maghari (ESD Electronz) and Cesar Sumaylo (Silverado) in the men’s single and triple with 147 and 387; Cecil Biendo in the ladies side with 145 and 382.*

back to top


ButtonSJI volleybelles poised to keep NOPSSCEA high school title
ButtonSharp Aquos bowlers rule pre-MassKara tilt
ButtonNePan, Capitol share lead in LNA7 - BCAN cagefest
ButtonNOPPO lauds shootfest winners