Daily Star logoSports
Bacolod City, PhilippinesSaturday, October 19, 2013
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Santos wins MVP plum,
Abueva bags ROY award

MANILA - Petron's star Forward Arwind Santos captured the precious Most Valuable Player Award after besting Barangay Ginebra San Miguel's Lewis Alfred "L.A" Tenorio and Talk and Text's Jayson Castro in the 2013 PBA Leo Awarding ceremony held at the Mall Of Asia Arena last night.

The 6'4 Santos who also captured the Governor's Cup Best Player Of the Conference plum was also included in the 1st Mythical Team and All Defensive Team.

Santos served as an inspiration in his acceptance speech, "Siguro po ito yung nagsasabing kahit mahirap po ay pwedeng manalo ng award na ito, Salamat po and Godbless,"

However, Alaska's Calvin Abueva was named Rookie Of the Year after edging out Petron's June Mar Fajardo, Meralco's Cliff Hodge, Brgy.Ginebra's Chris Ellis and Air21's Vic Manuel.

In other Individual Awards, Air21's Nino Canaleta bagged the Most Improved Player award, while Alaska's Jvee Casio was honored for his fair play to win the Sportsmanship Award.

Canaleta bested Rain Or Shine's Jervy Cruz, Meralco's Reynel Hugnatan and GlobalPort's Solomon Mercado.

On the other hand, Castro won the award ahead of Alaska teammate Dondon Hontiveros, Petron's Marcio Lassiter, Rain Or Shine's Gabe Norwood and San Mig Coffee's Peter June Simon.

Meanwhile, the 1st Mythical Team members who were also honored in this event was MVP Arwind Santos, Alaska's Calvin Abueva, Talk and Text's Ranidel De Ocampo and Jayson Castro and Brgy. Ginebra's L.A Tenorio.

The Mythical 2nd Team is composed of San Mig Coffee's Marc Pingris, Petron's June Mar Fajardo and Alex Cabagnot, and Alaska's Sonny Thoss and Cyrus Baguio.

The PBA All Defensive team members are San Mig Coffee's Marc Pingris, Alaska's Sonny Thoss, Petron's Arwind Santos, Rain or Shine's Gabe Norwood and Petron's Marcio Lassiter. *PNA


back to top


Button Colt 45 captures Fil-Sino Asia Brewery cagefest title
Button Colt 45 captures Fil-Sino Asia Brewery cagefest title
Button Santos wins MVP plum, Abueva bags ROY award
Button District VI taekwondo jins rule Bacolod Division Meet
Davies earns twice-to-beat edge in 3rd NSL Non-Rated bowling tilt