Daily Star logoNegros Oriental
Dumaguete City, PhilippinesThursday, October 31, 2013
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Dumaguete Comelec names
winners in barangay polls

The Commission on Elections in Dumaguete City yesterday announced the winners in the barangay polls held Monday, that was generally peaceful police assessment showed.

For barangay captain, the winners are Vincent Perigua for Brgy. Bagacay, Pedro Zuniega – Poblacion 2, Raul Bana – Banilad, Efren Teves – Bantayan, Leonil Banogon – Bunao, Ramil Cornelia – Pulantubig, Greg Oira – Candau-ay, Ricardo Valencia – Mangnao, Nelson Ablir – Poblacion 5, Bernardo Sun Jr. – Poblacion 6, and Tomasa Amor – Piapi.

The list of other winners has to be finalized yet.

Members of the local tri-media, who won as barangay kagawads, are Jasper Cuevas – Bagacay, Jess Estrabela – Camanjac, Cesar Parong and Alfredo Omoyon – Brgy. Banilad, Clive Alden Catan – Motong, Rene Genove – Poblacion 6, Noelito Ramirez and Choy Gallarde – Bajumpandan.

Dumaguete elections officer Gildu Agoncillo also said that Taclobo, the biggest barangay of the city, only registered a 39 percent voter turnout, or 2,453 actual voters out of the 6,836 who registered for the Oct. 28 elections.

In Brgy. Calindagan, 4,015 of the 5,636 registered voters cast their ballots, and the other barangays registered an average of 80 to 85 percent turnout.

The low turnout in Taclobo had pulled down the voter turnout in Dumaguete to 69 percent, Agoncillo said.

He also reminded winning and losing candidates to file their statements of contributions and expenditures by November 17. He said this is a requirement for the winners to assume their posts on Nov. 30.*JG


back to top

Negros Oriental
Button Dumaguete Comelec names winners in barangay polls
Button Soldiers' election duty part of AFP's IPSP
‘Pink Room' opens
DAP is not ‘pork barrel,' Aquino clarifies